Concert: Silence

28. August/Saturday/ 22:00

City Market, Ptuj


Silence, a duet comprised of pianist Primož Hladnik and vocalist Boris Benko, will perform a selection of songs that encompass the duet's 25-year-long career. Silence's four studio albums – Ma non troppo (1997), Unlike a Virgin (1999), Vain (2004), and Musical Accompaniment for the End of the World (2012) – will provide the bulk of the repertoire. The concert will also feature works from plays by Tomaž Pandur, Matjaž Pograjc, and other acclaimed directors.

Silence will be amplified.



The duet Silence (comprised of Boris Benko and Primož Hladnik) has released five albums so far: Ma non troppo (1997), Unlike a Virgin (1999), Vain – a Tribute to a Ghost (2004), Key Silence (2CD, 2006) and Musical Accompaniment for the End of the World (2012).

In 2006, the duet composed and produced Volk, Laibach’s 7th album. In 2015, Laibach and Silence become the first Western alternative acts to perform in North Korea. The duet rearranged nine standards from the musical The Sound of Music for the occasion. The songs were released by Mute Records in 2018.

The duet has written numerous scores for plays and dance performances. Silence’s notable collaborators include directors Tomaž Pandur, Aleksandar Popovski, Matjaž Berger, and Matjaž Pograjc. The duet's discography includes the following theatre scores: Maison des rendez-vous (2003), Love Unto Death (2007), Veronika (2005) and The Passion of the Cold (2008), a double album with music from Pandur’s plays Barroco and Caligula.

The duet has also scored four feature films: A Call Girl (2009), Project Cancer (2013), and Nightlife (2016) by Damjan Kozole, and History of Love (2018) by Sonja Prosenc.  

More information: